Hear from your peers!

Education Abroad Student Assistants

Every year the Education Abroad Office employs undergraduate study abroad returnees and international education enthusiasts. These assistants conduct Study Abroad 101 sessions every day in our office during the Fall and Spring semesters and are available for our peer advising hours from 8 AM to 4 PM. Education Abroad Student Assistants are also available for on-campus presentations, tabling, and student returnee panels.

We encourage students to contact assistants via e-mail for information or visit them during their office hours.

Johnathan Anderson

jsanderson6@crimson.ua.edu 
Journalism

Carly Bernstein

cibernstein@crimson.ua.edu
Nursing

Benjamin Borja

bpborja@crimson.ua.edu
International Studies and Political Science

Katy Crawford

kacrawford1@crimson.ua.edu 
Foreign Languages & Literature and Anthropology

Heather Griffith

hgriffith@crimson.ua.edu 
Public Relations & International Studies

Katie Lightfoot

kjlightfoot@crimson.ua.edu
Foreign Languages and Literature & International Studies

David Meehan

dameehan@crimson.ua.edu 
Marketing

Darnell Sharperson

ddsharperson@crimson.ua.edu
Public Relations

Oscar Villalobos

ovillalobos@crimson.ua.edu 
Theater & Dance

Education Abroad Ambassadors

Wondering what it might be like to go on a particular program? Interested in knowing more about what daily life is like in a particular city or country? Contact one of our Education Abroad Ambassador! Our Ambassadors have recently returned from their time abroad and are happy to answer your questions about the locations they studied abroad in!

Please note that Education Abroad Ambassadors have specifically been trained to answer location specific questions. If you have questions about the application process, program and course selection, getting a visa, transcripts, financial aid, scholarships, or insurance, please contact the Education Abroad Office at studyabroad@ua.edu.

 

 

Africa

Samantha Kuether
UA in Ghana: Global Health
Various, Ghana
smkuether@crimson.ua.edu

Asia and Oceania

Ashley Favara
UA Exchange: Queensland University of Technology
Brisbane, Australia
Catherine Christopher
UA Internship: Australia
Sydney, Australia
Kourtni Halsey
CISabroad: Macquarie University
Sydney, Australia
Ryan Partain
IFSA: James Cook University
Townsvlle, Australia
akfavara@crimson.ua.edu cechristopher@crimson.ua.edu krhalsey@crimson.ua.edu repartain@crimson.ua.edu
Amica Rapadas
UA in China:
Language & Culture
USAC: Southwest Minzu University
Beijing, Shanghai,
Xiamen, Chengdu, China
Logan Derbes
UA in New Zealand: Adventure in Literature
Various, New Zealand
Kayla Merritt
UA Honors in New Zealand: One Really Awesome South Pacific Adventure
CISabroad: Mahidol University
Various, New Zealand
Bangkok, Thailand
Samuel Watson
CIEE Summer Korean Studies
UA Exchange: Yonsei University
Seoul, South Korea
afrapadas@crimson.ua.edu laderbes@crimson.ua.edu kemerritt1@crimson.ua.edu scwatson4@crimson.ua.edu
Mason Johnston
ISA: Mahidol University
Bangkok, Thailand
Madison Knapp
USAC: Chiang Mai University
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Elizabeth Bury
UA in Asia: Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Shanghai, & Shenzhen, Vietnam & China
mljohnston2@crimson.ua.edu mknapp@crimson.ua.edu egbury@crimson.ua.edu

Europe

Matthew Weber
UA in Austria & Czech Republic: Field Studies in Water and Climate
Innsbruck, Munich, Munich & Prague, Austria & Czech Republic
Caneel VanNostrand
Veritas Christian Study Abroad
Prague, Czech Republic
Marilyn Clark
Arcadia: London Center
ISA: Florence University of the Arts
London, England
Florence, Italy
Jordynn Lodge
AIFS: Richmond, The American International University in London
London, England
Mjweber1@crimson.ua.edu cevannostrand@crimson.ua.edu mpclark1@crimson.ua.edu jclodge@crimson.ua.edu
Megan Moloney
AIFS: Richmond, The American International University in London
London, England
Grant White
UA Abroad in London: Roehampton
London, England
Tiffany Bailey
UA in France: Language and Culture
UA in Greece: Birth of Western Civilization
Paris & Tours, France
Various, Greece
Logan Derbes
ISA: Institut Catholique de Paris
Paris, France
mgmoloney@crimson.ua.edu jgwhite3@crimson.ua.edu tabailey1@crimson.ua.edu laderbes@crimson.ua.edu
Lexi Wylie
UA in Paris: C&IS
Cannes & Paris, France
Christine Ringel
UA in Germany: Language & Culture
UA in Germany Honors: Global Perspectives through Intercultural Experience
Berlin / Munich, Germany
Erika Steinhauer
UA Exchange: Mannheim University
Mannheim, Germany
Kyle Van Frank
UA in Germany: Policy, Politics, and Culture
Berlin, Germany
awylie@crimson.ua.edu cmringel@crimson.ua.edu epsteinhauer@crimson.ua.edu kbvanfrank@crimson.ua.edu
Victoria Douglas
UA in Greece: Birth of Western Civilization
Various, Greece
Mason Johnston
API: Corvinus University
Budapest, Hungary
Ashlyn Cooper
UA Direct Enroll: University College Dublin    Arts and Humanities
Dublin, Ireland
Lauren Dutch
UA Direct Enroll: University College Dublin    Quinn School of Business
Dublin, Ireland
vdouglas1@crimson.ua.edu mljohnston2@crimson.ua.edu acooper1@crimson.ua.edu lndutch@crimson.ua.edu
Kahlan Noel
UA Direct Enroll: University College Dublin Engineering
Dublin, Ireland
Nicole Putre
Arcadia: Trinity College Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Lara Lillian Johnson
UA in Italy: Food & Wine
Bologna, Italy
Haley Wright
UA in Italy: Food & Wine
Bologna, Italy
kenoel@crimson.ua.edu njputre@crimson.ua.edu lljohnson4@crimson.ua.edu hmwright4@crimson.ua.edu
Kathryn Crawford
UA in Italy: Language & Culture
Florence, Italy
Anna Pitts
UA in Italy: Art & Art History
Florence, Italy
Lillian Couvillon
SAI: John Cabot University
Rome, Italy
Deisha Wilson
SAI: John Cabot University
Rome, Italy
kacrawford1@crimson.ua.edu awpitts@crimson.ua.edu lgcouvillon@crimson.ua.edu dnwilson@crimson.ua.edu
Maribeth Vain
UA in Italy: Following Shakespeare Through Italy
Various, Italy
McKenna Lewis
UA in Italy: Discovering Mathematicians of the Renaissance
Various, Italy
Kourtni Halsey
USAC: The Hague University of Applied Sciences
The Hague, Netherlands
Melanie Vines
Arcadia: Universidad de Granada
Granada, Spain
mlvain@crimson.ua.edu mjlewis4@crimson.ua.edu krhalsey@crimson.ua.edu mgvines@crimson.ua.edu
Erica Schaab
ISA: Universidad Antonio de Nebrija
Madrid, Spain
Brooke Tuthill
UA in Spain: Language & Culture
Madrid, Spain
Amanda Cooper
UA in Spain: Language & Culture
San Lorenzo, Spain
Lauren Fehr
UA in Spain: Language & Culture
San Lorenzo, Spain
enschaab@crimson.ua.edu bgtuthill@crimson.ua.edu afcooper1@crimson.ua.edu ltfehr@crimson.ua.edu
Jordan Mlcoch
ISA: Universidad Internacional Menéndez Pelayo-Sevilla
Sevilla, Spain
jtmlcoch@crimson.ua.edu

Latin America

Lauren L’Etang
ISA: Universidad de Belgrano
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Kayla Meeks
UA in Belize: Rainforests and Reefs: Tropical Conservation in Belize
Punta Gorda, Belize
Lisa Koniecko
USAC: Sede de Occidente
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Carly Gross
UA in Peru: Honors College Clinical Experience
Tarapoto, Peru
lmletang@crimson.ua.edu krmeeks@crimson.ua.edu lkoniecko@crimson.ua.edu crgross1@crimson.ua.edu